When avoiding gluten due to an IgG reactivity or Celiac disease, please avoid the following foods unless you can confirm they are gluten-free:

Foods with gluten (some are hidden sources) include:

  • Atta flour
  • Bacon (check ingredients)
  • Barley
  • Barley grass
  • Barley malt
  • Beer (unless gluten-free)
  • Bran
  • Breading
  • Brewers yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Coating mixes
  • Communion wafers
  • Condiments
  • Couscous
  • Croutons
  • Dinkle (spelt)
  • Durham
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer (durham wheat)
  • Farina
  • Farmed fish
  • Farro (called emmer wheat, except in Italy)
  • Food starch
  • French Fries and other fried foods (in the coating or the oil used to fry)
  • Fu (a dried form of gluten)
  • Gliadin
  • Gluten
  • Gluten peptides
  • Glutenin
  • Graham
  • Gravies
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Ice cream (may contain flour as an anticrystallizing agent)
  • Imitation fish
  • Kamut
  • Lunch meats
  • Maida (indian wheat flour)
  • Malt
  • Malt vinegar
  • Marinades
  • Matzah (aka matzo)
  • Mir (a wheat and rye cross)
  • Nutritional and herbal supplements (source gluten-free supplements)
  • Oats (look for gluten-free oats)
  • Panko (bread crumbs)
  • Pilafs (containing orzo)
  • Prepared foods (often contain gluten)
  • Processed cereals
  • Rye
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces
  • Seitan
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Semolina
  • Some medications (prescription or over the counter)
  • Soup bases and bouillon
  • Soy or rice drinks (may have barley malt or malt enzymes used during manufacturing)
  • Soy sauce (except for a wheat-free version)
  • Spelt
  • Spice mixtures (often contain wheat as an anticaking agent, filler, or thickening agent)
  • Starch
  • Stuffings
  • Syrups
  • Tea (in the flavorings or the glue used on the bag)
  • Thickeners
  • Triticale
  • Vegetable gum
  • Wheat (bran, germ, gluten, grass, malt, starch)
  • Wheat berries
  • Wheat flour (all types, including all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high protein or high gluten, and pastry)
  • Worcestershire sauce

Hidden non-food sources of gluten for those with Celiac disease:

  • Charcoal briquets
  • Dry Wall
  • Envelopes (in the glue)
  • Glue
  • Glue Sticks
  • Herbal supplements
  • Lipstick, lipgloss, lip moisturizers
  • Lotion or hand cream
  • Makeup
  • Medications
  • Play Dough
  • Shampoo
  • Soaps
  • Stamps
  • Spray Starch
  • Talcum/Body Powder
  • Toothpaste
  • Vitamins

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This